2022 SRX Series: Track Guide, Featured Drivers, Local All-Stars, More for Five Flags Speedway

Now entering its second season in 2022, the Superstar Racing Experience has been a major national show of grassroots racing, putting some of the greatest drivers on some of the greatest short tracks in America. With that in mind, it’s perhaps fitting that the 2022 SRX season kicks off at one of the greatest short track races in the country: Five Flags Speedway.

Built in 1953, this half-mile oval in Pensacola, Florida, has been raced by everyone from the most famous NASCAR champions to the most humble of drivers. Set at a solid 15 degrees, Five Flags is a fast and challenging track that combines a need for precision with the ability to save time, find the right groove, and maintain speeds both on entry and exit.

For those unfamiliar with Five Flags Speedway, here’s a comprehensive guide to the fast track that will serve the host in the season opener of the Camping World SRX series.

The biggest races

Five Flags Speedway’s largest is the annual Snowball Derby, the largest and most prestigious auto race in the United States. The caliber of drivers who won the event.

Three NASCAR Cup champions – Daryl Waltrip, Kyle Busch, and Chase Elliott – have all won the Snowball Derby. So do former NASCAR stars such as Donnie Allison, Ted Musgrave and Rich Bickle. In recent years, the race has helped launch young drivers onto NASCAR’s radar, such as when young Eric Jones beat Bosch to win the 2012 Snowball Derby.

Five Flags Speedway also hosted one race of the NASCAR Cup Series in 1953, a 140-lap event won by Herb Thomas. Most recently, the track has been a stop on the ARCA Menards Series East schedule in each of the past three seasons.

Notable drivers

While Five Flags Speedway has been a stop along the way for a number of great drivers over the years, the legacy of others is entirely linked to the highway. Dave Mader III, for example, won the Snowball Derby and the track championship at Super Late Models. Johanna Long (Robbins) of Pensacola won the SLM Championship in 2009 before a Snowball Derby win in 2010 helped launch a multi-season ASCAR career. Eddie Mercer has had a long and famous history on the track as well, winning the track championship as well as the Snowball Derby.

Chase Elliott and Daniel Hemrick have gone on to win championships in NASCAR after winning championships in Five Flags, and some of the more recent track champions include some of the biggest names in late-model racing. Andrew “Bubba” Pollard, Casey Roderick, Auggie Grill and Jake Garcia have been among the track champions for the past 10 years.

All local stars

With multiple track championships already on his résumé, Pollard will serve as the local All-Star driver for the SRX race at Five Flags. Bullard qualified for his SRX chance with the PepperJack Kennel Twins at the track earlier this year, posting a best average finish over the race weekend to secure a seat.

A native of Senoia, Ga. , Pollard’s name and racing legacy goes far beyond Five Flags, with the 35-year-old becoming one of the most prolific drivers of short-track racing across the Southeast and beyond. Pollard has racked up over 100 career victories in the late models, including some of the sport’s biggest races like the Rattler 250 at South Alabama Speedway, the All-American 400 at the Nashville Fairgrounds, the Slinger Nationals and more.

Did you know?

The current track record at Five Flags Speedway in very late models belongs to Ty Majeski, who put in 16,120 laps during the Snowball Derby weekend in 2015. The overall track record belongs to Brian Gerster, who analyzed the facility at 13.046 driving a race car.