2022 SRX Series: The complete driver lineup for the new season of the Superstar Racing Experience

Last summer, the racing world was revitalized with the introduction of the Superstar Racing Experience, a new six-week series of peak racing between some of the most popular racing drivers on some of the most popular grassroots tracks. And after a successful inaugural season in 2021, summer 2022 means it’s time for SRX again.

The 2022 Camping World SRX Series, which begins Saturday at Five Flags Speedway on CBS, once again features a star-studded field for some of the most productive drivers of racing’s past, present and future alike. Returning faces like Bobby Labonte and Paul Tracy will be joined by newcomers like Ryan Newman and Ryan Hunter-Reay, as well as active NASCAR and IndyCar stars like Chase Elliott, Josef Newgarden and Ryan Blaney – all of whom will hunt down SRX co-founder and first champion Tony Stewart.

Here’s a full look at the lineup of full-time and part-time SRX drivers for 2022, not including the group of local All-Stars who will compete at the corresponding racetracks during the six-week series.

full time drivers

Tony Stewart Tony Stewart is a racing icon whose resume includes three NASCAR Cup Series championships, championships in IndyCar and USAC, and many other awards. Last year, Stewart added to his extensive portfolio by winning the inaugural SRX Championship.

Bobby Labonte – A NASCAR Hall of Famer and 2000 NASCAR Cup Series Champion, Bobby Labonte ran the full SRX season last year with the best second-place finish in the IRP.

Michael Waltrip A two-time Daytona 500 champion with four NASCAR Cup Series wins overall, Michael Waltrip ran the full SRX season last year with the best finish of fourth in Knoxville.

Ryan Newman After racing in NASCAR full-time from 2002 to 2021, Ryan Newman joined SRX full-time as part of a more limited racing schedule in 2022. Newman racked up 18 cup wins, including the Daytona 500 and 2013 Brickyard 400.

Greg Bevel – After competing part-time in the SRX in 2021, Biffle joined for the full season in 2022. A 19-time winner of the NASCAR Cup Series with championships in the Xfinity Series and Truck Series, Biffle ran two SRX races last season with the best result in second place at Stafford .

Ryan Hunter RE Ryan Hunter-Reay joined SRX full-time after competing in IndyCar full-time from 2008 to 2021. Hunter-Reay racked up 16 career victories in IndyCar, including the 2014 Indianapolis 500, and was the IndyCar Series Champion in 2021.

Paul Tracy – 2003 CART Champion and one of the great personalities of open wheel racing for the past 20 years, Paul Tracy is back in SRX for 2022 having faced just about everything in 2021. Tracy’s best finish was last season’s fifth, where he ended up in every From the Eldora and Nashville fairgrounds.

Marco Andretti Mario Andretti’s grandson and Michael Andretti’s son, Marco Andretti, is back for more SRX competition after the series helped revamp his racing career in 2021. Andretti won at Slinger Speedway last year on his way to fourth in the SRX standings.

part time drivers

Tony Kanaan After running four SRX races in 2021, Tony Kanaan will run all SRX events in 2022 except for Stafford. The 2013 Indianapolis 500 Winner and 2004 IndyCar Champion earned a best finish of seventh in last year’s SRX, and is back again from third in this year’s Indy 500.

Matt Kenseth Matt Kenseth will race the SRX at the Nashville Fairgrounds, I-55 and Sharon. Kenseth, the 2003 NASCAR Cup Series Champion, raced in the Cup Series from 2000 to 2020 with 39 career wins, a resume that recently led to his induction into the NASCAR Hall of Fame.

Helio Castroneves – After a full season run in 2021, Helio Castroneves is back on the SRX schedule part-time in 2022. A four-time Indy 500 winner and Open Wheel legend will race at Stafford, South Boston and the Nashville Fairgrounds.

Ernie Francis Jr – Last year, Ernie Francis Jr. claimed an SRX win in the IRP and a runner-up in the championship standings at an Indy Lights race opportunity in 2022. This year, Francis will return to SRX for two races.

Bill Elliot – A full-time competitor in last year’s SRX, NASCAR Hall of Famer Bill Elliott will drop to two appearances in 2022. “Awesome Bill from Dawsonville” will compete in Five Flags and Stafford.

Hailey Degan Part-time SRX Competitor In 2021, Hailie Deegan will run a pair of SRX races at I-55 and Stafford in addition to her full-time duties in the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series. Deegan ran three SRX races last season with the best second-place result in Knoxville.

Joseph Newgarden 2017 and 2019 IndyCar Series Champion Josef Newgarden will join SRX in a one-time appearance on the track at his home. Newgarden will compete at the Nashville Fairgrounds in his native Nashville, Tenn.

Chase Elliot – After winning last season’s final at the Nashville Fairgrounds, NASCAR Cup Series star Chase Elliott will attempt to repeat the feat in 2022. This year, Elliott will run the season finale at Sharon Speedway.

Ryan Blaney Like Elliott, Ryan Blaney will also move from the NASCAR Cup Series to enter the SRX Battle of Sharon. Blaney will compete alongside his father, Dave Blaney, on a track central to the Blaney family’s racing legacy in Ohio.