Toronto Maple Leafs forward Auston Matthews receives the Hart Trophy and Ted Lindsay award

Tampa, Florida – star of Toronto Maple Leafs Auston Matthews He was awarded the Hart Trophy as the NHL Player of the Year and the Ted Lindsay Award as the NHLPA Player of the Year at the NHL Awards Tuesday night.

Matthews, 24, scored 60 goals and captained the National Hockey League for the second straight season. He set a record for the Maple Leafs franchise and scored in one season for the most goals by an American-born player. He led the NHL in equal power goals (44), goals per game (0.82) and shots (348). He tied for sixth in points with a score of 106 – the highest total of his career.

“I think it’s a great honor to wear the blue and white uniform, to represent the city of Toronto and to wear the Maple Leaf every night,” he said. “Every time you get your name engraved in history, with an organization like that, it’s something I don’t take for granted.”

Matthews received 119 first-place votes for the Hart Award, which was voted on by the Professional Hockey Writers Association (PHWA). Conor McDavid From the Edmonton Oilers team was second in the vote, the New York Rangers goalkeeper Igor Shesterkin was the third.

Matthews is the first Maple Leafs player to win the NHLPA Player of the Year award, which was voted on by players and first handed over in 1971. He is the second American-born player to win it, and joins the Chicago Blackhawks star. Patrick King (2015-16). McDavid and Nashville Predators defense roman joussi They were runners-up at Ted Lindsay.

“I’m not going to lie to you, it feels really good,” Matthews said. “It’s so special to have my family here with me. There are so many great players in that room.”

The closest vote tonight was the Norris Cup, which the PHWA gave to the best defensive man in the NHL. Colorado Avalanche Defense Cal Makar Norris won his first with 1,631 points in the vote, with 92 votes in first place. Josie came in second (1606) with more votes than Makar (98). The distribution of points on the ballot, which ranks the first five options, is 10-7-5-3-1. Makar got 195 ballot papers, while Josie got 194.

Tampa Bay Lightning Defensive Victor Hedman The third was for Norris.

Hedman and McCar will play in Game 4 of the Stanley Cup Final on Wednesday night.

“I feel like once you say and do it all, you can have fun [the award]Makar said. But for me now, I’ve already kind of forgotten. You have to move forward. Obviously, it’s strange circumstances with [the awards] It is given before the season ends. As a team, we are putting ourselves in a great place now. We just need to take advantage of that.”

Shesterkin won the Vezina Cup as the best goalkeeper in the league, which was voted by the NHL general managers. The other contestants were in second place Jacob Markstrom From Calgary Flames and Juuse Saros Predators.

“It means a lot to me,” said Shesterkin, who completed his third season in the NHL. “I didn’t think about it when I came to the NHL. But sometimes you think I might have a chance. In the first game before the season against the Islanders, I didn’t play. Toddler [fan] He showed me a picture with myself that read, “Future Vezina Award Winner.” I think, “Why not?” We have a good team for that.”

Shesterkin led the National Hockey League with 2.07 goals-to-average and 0.935 savings in 53 games, bringing Rangers to 110 points in the regular season, the third-highest total in franchise history. He was a Vezina candidate for the first time and joined him Henrik Lundqvist And the John Vanbisbrook Like Rangers who have won the Vezina since the current criteria for the award were defined in 1981-1982.

Some expected it could be a unanimous choice, but Carolina’s choice Frederic AndersenTampa Bay Andrei Vasilevsky and New York Islanders Ilya Sorokin He also got first place votes.

Detroit Red Wings Defenders Moritz Cider He won the Calder Memorial Trophy for Junior of the Year, as voted by PHWA. He played 82 games for the Red Wings and averaged 23:02 in ice time per game, the highest among the rookies. He has led all of the up-and-coming defenders in points (50), the third-highest first-year blueliner number in the past 30 years. He led all the juniors in assists (43) and strengths (21).

Seder got a big laugh at the awards ceremony when he mentioned that his parents weren’t present because they just got back from vacation in Croatia.

“They had set their leave and there were no more days to run away from home,” he said. “They definitely watched. So proud to bring something [for them]. “

Cedar received 170 votes. Trevor Zegras, the Anaheim Ducks forward who has made several standout goals this season, was second with 15 votes in first place. Rookie Maple Leafs Michael Bantingwho was notable for being 26 years old, took third place in the vote.

Julien BriseBois from Lightning, Chris Drury Rangers and Joe Sakic From Avalanche are the three finalists for the Jim Gregory General Manager Award for the year 2021-22. The winner of the NHL Draft will be announced next month in Montreal.

The NHL Awards were held at Armature Works on rest day between games 3 and 4 of the Stanley Cup Final.

The league previously announced several awards during the playoffs: Marc Messier NHL Leadership Award: Anzi CopetarLos Angeles Kings. Jack Adams Award: Daryl Sutter, Flames; Bill Masterton Memorial Cup: Carry price, Montreal Canadiens; Willie O’Ree Community Hero Award: Noel Acton of Baltimore. Frank J. Silk Award for Best Defensive Striker: Patrice Bergeron, Bruins Boston; Lady Bing Memorial Cup for Most Polite Players: Kyle ConnorWinnipeg Jets. King Clancy’s Memorial Cup for Community Service: BK SubanNew Jersey Devils.